Sep 12, 2:01 PM EDT

Arkansas governor, doctors criticize medical marijuana push

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) -- Arkansas Gov. Asa Hutchinson and some of the state's top doctors are criticizing efforts to legalize medical marijuana, accusing backers of two ballot measures of misleading voters about the benefits of the drug.

Hutchinson on Monday said legalizing medical marijuana through the ballot box is not good medical practice and circumvents the federal process in place for studying and regulating drugs. Two competing medical marijuana proposals are on the November ballot.

Hutchinson was joined by doctors representing several organizations and hospitals, including the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences and the Arkansas Hospital Association. Hutchinson is a Republican who headed the federal Drug Enforcement Administration.

Arkansas voters narrowly rejected legalizing medical marijuana four years ago.

© 2016 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. Learn more about our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

© 2016 Blytheville Courier News