Oct 5, 6:01 PM EDT

NASCAR Foundation names 4 finalists for Humanitarian Award

Special Section
Complete NASCAR Coverage
2009 Sprint Cup Drivers
Comparing NASCAR vs. IndyCar Racers
Top Daytona 500 Moments
Measuring NASCAR
Rolling Road Wind Tunnel
AP Photo


AP Photo

Indy Racing League

Latest News
Hinchcliffe and Wickens team for Canadian IndyCar lineup

NASCAR's most popular driver expecting a baby girl

Column: Talladega is too dicey to be in NASCAR's playoffs

Hight wins Funny Car at Texas Motorplex

Dale Earnhardt Jr. navigates the chaos in Talladega finale

Latest News
Former French intelligence chief to testify at terror trial

France to create new police unit focusing on daily life

France: Security law that replaces state of emergency passes

France: 10 held in probe of alleged far-right terror plot

France proposes new law against harassment, sexual violence

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (AP) -- The NASCAR Foundation has chosen four finalists for the seventh annual Betty Jane France Humanitarian Award.

The award spotlights volunteers working for children's causes in their communities and honors the memory of the foundation's late founder, Betty Jane France. The finalists:

- Shannon Goldwater of Scottsdale, Arizona: Founder of Feeding Matters, which furthers advances in the diagnosis and treatment of pediatric feeding disorders

- Julian Maha of Vestavia Hills, Alabama: Founder of KultureCity, an organization seeking to improve the lives of children with autism

- Tammy Richardson of Las Vegas, representing the Nevada Childhood Cancer Foundation that provides programs and services to children with cancer and other life-threatening diseases

- Chante Gonzalez Vido of Jamul, California, a two-time cancer survivor and head counselor at a camp for young cancer patients that is operated by The Seany Foundation

The award winner will be determined via an online vote and presented on Nov. 30 during the annual awards ceremony in Las Vegas. The NASCAR Foundation will donate $100,000 to the charity represented by the award winner and $25,000 to each of the other three finalists' charities.

© 2017 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. Learn more about our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.