May 24, 6:35 PM EDT

Yates, Evernham lead NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2018

Special Section
Complete NASCAR Coverage
2009 Sprint Cup Drivers
Comparing NASCAR vs. IndyCar Racers
Top Daytona 500 Moments
Measuring NASCAR
Rolling Road Wind Tunnel
AP Photo


AP Photo

Indy Racing League

Latest News
ONLY ON AP: Bourdais determined to return for season finale

Ganassi goes into biggest Sunday of racing leading 2 series

Blaney goes last to first to win Xfinity race at Charlotte

Questions abound for future of Indy 500 on television

Bucket list: Earnhardt seeking Coca-Cola 600 victory

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (AP) -- Robert Yates, a NASCAR Cup champion as both an engine builder and owner, will be inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame along with four others.

Three-time NASCAR Cup championship crew chief Ray Evernham, drivers Red Byron and Ron Hornaday Jr. and broadcaster Ken Squier also were voted in Wednesday.

Hornaday and driver Alan Kulwicki tied for the fifth and final spot, and Hornaday won the tiebreaker.

Yates was an overwhelming favorite, selected by 94 percent of the voters.

Jim France, the current chairman of International Speedway Corporation and son of NASCAR founder Bill France Sr., won the Landmark Award for his contributions to NASCAR.

The induction ceremony for the Class of 2018 will be in January in Charlotte.


More AP Auto Racing:

© 2017 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. Learn more about our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.