The Daily Progress

Charlottesville, Virginia
May 24, 6:35 PM EDT

Yates, Evernham lead NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2018

Special Section
Complete NASCAR Coverage
2009 Sprint Cup Drivers
Comparing NASCAR vs. IndyCar Racers
Top Daytona 500 Moments
Measuring NASCAR
Rolling Road Wind Tunnel
AP Photo


AP Photo

Indy Racing League

Latest News
Texas could make play for NASCAR all-star and finale races

Harvick wins Charlotte pole; Cup leader Larson starts last

Jeffrey Dean Morgan to drive Indy 500 pace car

VP and former Indiana Gov. Mike Pence to attend Indy 500

All-Star champ Busch seeks to snap Cup points drought at CMS

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (AP) -- Robert Yates, a NASCAR Cup champion as both an engine builder and owner, will be inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame along with four others.

Three-time NASCAR Cup championship crew chief Ray Evernham, drivers Red Byron and Ron Hornaday Jr. and broadcaster Ken Squier also were voted in Wednesday.

Hornaday and driver Alan Kulwicki tied for the fifth and final spot, and Hornaday won the tiebreaker.

Yates was an overwhelming favorite, selected by 94 percent of the voters.

Jim France, the current chairman of International Speedway Corporation and son of NASCAR founder Bill France Sr., won the Landmark Award for his contributions to NASCAR.

The induction ceremony for the Class of 2018 will be in January in Charlotte.


More AP Auto Racing:

© 2017 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. Learn more about our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.