Search AP News:
Feb 20, 6:35 PM EST

Kulwicki, Martin, Evernham nominated for NASCAR Hall of Fame

Sports Video

Special Section
Complete NASCAR Coverage
2009 Sprint Cup Drivers
Comparing NASCAR vs. IndyCar Racers
Top Daytona 500 Moments
Measuring NASCAR
Rolling Road Wind Tunnel
AP Photo


AP Photo

Indy Racing League

Latest News
Hinchcliffe to be sponsored by Arrow Electronics at SPM

2016 Rolex race to be 1st event at renovated Daytona

Things to watch in the new F1 season

2015 Formula One Teams and Drivers

Mercedes again the team to beat in F1 2015

Buy AP Photo Reprints
Chile mine, key dates, miner profiles

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (AP) -- Former Cup champion Alan Kulwicki, driver Mark Martin and crew chief Ray Evernham are among the first-time nominees for the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

Crew chief Harry Hyde and driver Herschel McGriff also were named Friday as nominees.

There are 15 other nominees for the Hall of Fame: Buddy Baker, Red Byron, Richard Childress, Jerry Cook, Ray Fox, Rick Hendrick, Bobby Isaac, Terry Labonte, Raymond Parks, Benny Parsons, Larry Phillips, Bruton Smith, Mike Stefanik, Curtis Turner and Robert Yates.

Kulwicki was the 1992 champion in his final full season before he was killed in a plane crash. He had five wins in 207 career starts.

Martin won 40 Sprint Cup races and 49 in NASCAR's second-tier series. He's 17th in career Cup victories.

Evernham won three championships as Jeff Gordon's crew chief for Hendrick Motorsports in the 1990s.

© 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. Learn more about our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.