Aug 1, 10:52 PM EDT

Ryan Blaney wins NASCAR Xfinity race at Iowa Speedway

AP Photo
AP Photo/Charlie Neibergall

Special Section
Complete NASCAR Coverage
2009 Sprint Cup Drivers
Comparing NASCAR vs. IndyCar Racers
Top Daytona 500 Moments
Measuring NASCAR
Rolling Road Wind Tunnel
AP Photo


AP Photo

Indy Racing League

Latest News
Jack Beckman tops Funny Car field at Sonoma

Matt Kenseth stretches his fuel and steals a win at Pocono

Sato's 100th IndyCar race a dud

Filippi: 'I'm glad I didn't get struck by lightning'

Rahal wins in Ohio, pulls within 9 points of Montoya

Buy AP Photo Reprints

NEWTON, Iowa (AP) -- Ryan Blaney survived a flurry of late cautions to win the NASCAR Xfinity race Saturday night at Iowa Speedway for his first victory of the season.

The 21-year-old Blaney erased the sting of a disappointing runner-up finish last week in Indianapolis by maintaining his lead through a second green-white-checkered finish on the 0.894-mile oval.

Blaney led a track-record 252 laps, winning after finishing second three times in his other six Xfinity starts this season.

Regan Smith was second, followed by Brian Scott, Ty Dillon and Brendan Gaughan

Fifty-one-year-old Kenny Wallace, the career Xfinity starts leader with 547, finished 15th in the last race of his NASCAR career.

Blaney, whose miscue on the final lap last week in Indianapolis allowed Kyle Busch to slip past him for the win, cruised past pole-sitter Daniel Suarez on the opening lap.

The clean air helped Blaney take control for 75 laps - an Iowa record for green-flag laps.

If only the end was as easy as the beginning.

Blaney had to endure four restarts in the final 25 laps as championship contenders Chase Elliott, Chris Buescher and Darrell Wallace Jr. got involved in incidents.

Blaney and Gaughan rubbed on the first green-white-checkered finish, with Blaney holding off the No. 62.

Blaney suffered damage to a rear tire prior to the final restart, but he held on and crossed the finish line with smoke coming from his No. 22 car.

Suarez was sixth in his attempt to become the first Mexican-born driver to win in the series.

Elliott was ninth, Darrell Wallace 11th and points leader Buescher 13th.

Buescher lead over Elliott, last year's champion, dropped from 25 to 20 points.

Kenny Wallace won nine times in NASCAR's second-tier series, and he qualified a seventh in the powerhouse Joe Gibbs Racing No. 20 car.

But Wallace quickly fell back to the pack, and he got loose into the second turn with just 40 laps left.

Wallace finished his Xfinity career after 26 seasons with 10 poles and 173 top-10 finishes, good for seventh-most in the series.

© 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. Learn more about our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.