More from AP: Top stories | Florida | U.S. | Politics | World | Business | Technology | Sports | Entertainment | Offbeat

Nov 30, 8:53 PM EST

Earnhardt wins most popular for 15th year

AP Photo
AP Photo/Gaston De Cardenas

Special Section
Complete NASCAR Coverage
2009 Sprint Cup Drivers
Comparing NASCAR vs. IndyCar Racers
Top Daytona 500 Moments
Measuring NASCAR
Rolling Road Wind Tunnel
AP Photo


AP Photo

Indy Racing League

Latest News
Better reliability and team harmony keys to Hamilton's title

Todt re-elected unopposed as FIA president

2018 F1 calendar approved; Brazil GP security issue raised

Marchionne: Ferrari could quit F1 over proposed changes

Alfa Romeo Sauber confirms F1 seats for Leclerc, Ericsson

LAS VEGAS (AP) -- Dale Earnhardt Jr. wrapped up his final season as a NASCAR driver with one last piece of hardware. He won the Most Popular Driver Award on Thursday night for a 15th consecutive time.

The award is based on a fan vote and sponsored by the National Motorsports Press Association. Only Bill Elliott won the award more than Earnhardt - 16 times between 1984 and 2002 - before he removed his name from consideration.

Earnhardt retired as a full-time driver following NASCAR season finale, and he will move to NBC's broadcasting team next year.

© 2017 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. Learn more about our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.