• Welcome!
    Log Out|Manage Your Account
  • Today's Paper
Apr 25, 7:27 PM EDT

Spencer Massey qualifies No. 1 in Top Fuel in NHRA SpringNationals

Special Section
Complete NASCAR Coverage
2009 Sprint Cup Drivers
Comparing NASCAR vs. IndyCar Racers
Top Daytona 500 Moments
Measuring NASCAR
Rolling Road Wind Tunnel
AP Photo


AP Photo

Indy Racing League

Latest News
RCR crew member released from hospital after Richmond pit-road fire; 1 still hospitalized

Helio Castroneves grabs pole for Indy Grand Prix of Alabama, leads 3 Penske drivers at top

Spencer Massey qualifies No. 1 in Top Fuel in NHRA SpringNationals

NASCAR postpones race because of persistent rain at Richmond International Raceway

IndyCar's Southerner Josef Newgarden enjoys trips to Alabama for visits home, not sweet tea

Buy AP Photo Reprints

BAYTOWN, Texas (AP) -- Texas driver Spencer Massey raced to his first No. 1 qualifying position in Top Fuel in two years Saturday at the O'Reilly Auto Parts NHRA SpringNationals.

No one improved on Massey's track-record performance of 3.734 seconds at 330.07 mph from Friday and he will open Sunday's eliminations against fellow Texan Kebin Kinsley. It is Massey's eighth No. 1 of his career and first at Royal Purple Raceway.

"It's definitely awesome to come to the home state track and run very well," Massey said. "It's awesome to go out and do a great job and have the car run extremely well. It ran well last night at 330 mph and we made it down the track both runs today without smoking the tires and that's key. That's what we need it to do Sunday, and go four rounds."

Jack Beckman topped the Funny Car field, and Jason Line was the fastest in Pro Stock.

Beckman claimed his 11th career No. 1 with his track-record run from Friday, a 3.988 at 318.17 in a Dodge Charger. The 2012 world champion will face Terry Haddock in the opening round.

Line powered to a track-record time of 6.519 at 212.29 in a Chevy Camaro to earn his second No. 1 of the season and 40th of his career. It is Line's third No. 1 at this track. He will open eliminations against Deric Kramer.

© 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. Learn more about our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.