May 10, 9:56 PM EDT

Bethune-Cookman women win PGA Minority title

Hole-by-hole tour of PGA Championship
Hole-by-hole tour of British Open
U.S. Open Panorama
Hole-by-hole tour of Bethpage Black
Hole-by-hole tour of Augusta National
Special Section
Complete Golf Coverage
On the Fringe
Thanks but no thanks: Golfers scoff at Chambers Bay warnings

Fowler's game catching up to the quality of the person

Players Championship should focus on what it is

Match Play a reminder that different is interesting

Latest Golf News
Kirk makes par putt at 18 to win Colonial; Spieth 2nd again

Colin Montgomerie wins Senior PGA Championship

Golf Capsules

An wins BMW PGA Championship by 6 shots

Haruka Morita-WanyaoLu wins Symetra Classic

Buy AP Photo Reprints

PORT ST. LUCIE, Fla. (AP) -- Jennifer Hide shot a 2-under 70 on Sunday and Bethune-Cookman won the PGA Minority Collegiate Golf Championship women's title for the record fourth straight year and 12th time overall.

The Wildcats had a 16-over 880 total at PGA Golf Club to finish 33 strokes ahead of second-place Houston-Victoria.

"It never gets old to win the PGA Minority Collegiate," coach Loritz "Scooter" Clark said. "I was glad that we had a little bit of a comfortable lead for once. We'll celebrate today and look to hopefully repeat next year."

Hide, a senior from England, had a 3-over 219 total.

"We work for this tournament throughout the year, and when we get here, we know that we have made the right preparations," Hide said.

Houston-Victoria sophomore Heather Shake had a 67 to finish at 4-under 212 and claim her second consecutive Division I medalist honor. She earned a berth in next week's Symetra Tour's Mission Health Wellness Classic in Asheville, North Carolina.

Alabama State won its first men's title, beating Incarnate Word by seven strokes with a 29-over 993 total. The Hornets' Branson Ferrier, the Division I medalist, had a 70 for a 10-under 206 total.

Cal State Dominguez Hills won the Division II title, and the University of Texas at Brownsville took the NAIA championship. They each led after the second round and were declared champions when inclement weather forced a suspension of play and championship officials determined that both divisions would not have been able to complete their final rounds.

Tiana Jones of Maryland Eastern Shore won the women's individual invitational title, and LeMoyne-Owen College's Dominique Worthen took the men's championship.

© 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. Learn more about our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

Latest News