Sinton's Michell And Stewart Share Tswa Class 4A Honors

BRYAN, Texas (AP) — Sinton’s Blake Mitchell and Jaquae Stewart shared player of the year honors on the Blue Bell/Texas Sports Writers Association’s Class 4A all-state baseball team announced Thursday.

Mitchell, who played shortstop, batted .465 with seven home runs and 52 RBIs. He also was 6-0 pitching with a 0.39 earned run average with 67 strikeouts in 35.1 innings. Stewart, who played first base, batted .414 with 11 homers and 52 RBIs. He also was 8-0 pitching with a 0.17 ERA. The two juniors led Sinton to the state title.

The TSWA 4A All-State selections were:


Pitchers – Evan Brandt, Argyle, sr.; Wyatt Wiatrek, Sinton, sr.; Easton Ballard, Longview Spring Hill, sr.

Reliever – Noah Bentley, Celina, jr.

Catcher – (tie) Brayden Faulkner, China Spring, sr., and Rylan Galvan, Sinton, sr.

First baseman – Jaquae Stewart, Sinton, jr.

Second baseman – Noah Paddie, Carthage, jr.

Shortstop – (tie) Blake Mitchell, Sinton, jr., and Ace Reese, Canton, jr.

Third baseman – Trace Necessary, China Spring, sr.

Outfielders – Marshall Lipsey, Longview Spring Hill, sr.; Canon Chester, Sinton, sr.; (tie) R.J. Ruais, Celina, jr., and Rene Galvan, Sinton, sr.

Designated hitter – Dylanjer Merion, Stephenville, sr.

Player of the year – (tie) Mitchell, Sinton, and Stewart, Sinton

Coach of the year – Adrian Alaniz, Sinton


Pitchers – J.D. Thompson, Rusk, sr.; Damian Ruiz, Livingston, sr.; David Wilson, Bullard, soph.

Reliever – Jason Bodin, Orangefield, jr.

Catcher – Rashawn Galloway, Boerne, sr.

First baseman – Cameron Page, Giddings, sr.

Second baseman – Jordan Gibson, Rockport-Fulton, jr.

Shortstop – Dee Kennedy, Fort Worth Benbrook, jr.

Third baseman – Griffen Williams, Comal Canyon Lake, jr.

Outfielders – Brenton Clark, Texarkana Pleasant Grove, soph.; Joel Pena, Levelland, jr.; Kameryn Henderson, Orangefield, sr.

Designated hitter – Cooper Quillin, Vernon, sr.


Pitchers – Reece Elston, Stephenville, sr.; Mason Alley, Canyon, sr.; Justin Lamkin, Corpus Christi Calallen, sr.

Reliever – Cooper Schock, Brownsboro, soph.

Catcher – (tie) Chase Anderson, Comal Canyon Lake, jr., and Jaydon Southard, Iowa Park, sr.

First baseman – (tie) Easton Stewart, Snyder, soph., and Diego Cardenas, El Paso Riverside, sr.

Second baseman – (tie) Connor Hostas, Iowa Park, jr., and Sean Gentry, Tyler Chapel Hill, sr.

Shortstop – (tie) Collin Coker, Sweeny, sr., and Joshua Miramontes, Big Spring, sr.

Third baseman – Sam Anguiano, Pampa, sr.

Outfielders – Nevyn Johnson, Kennedale, soph.; Jacob Marshall, Giddings, sr.; C.J. Miser, Iowa Park, jr.

Designated hitter – Ben Black, Canyon, jr.