Ricketts Names African American Affairs Commission Members

LINCOLN, Neb. (AP) — Nebraska Gov. Pete Ricketts has named 14 members to the state's newly created Commission on African American Affairs.

The commission was created through a state law passed in last year's legislative session. Members will serve four-year terms.

The commission will coordinate programs related to Nebraska's African American community related to housing, education, welfare, employment and other issues.

The new members are DeMoine Adams, of Lincoln; William Femi Awodele, of Bennington; John Carter, of Benkelman; Toni Clarke, of Papillion; Vernon Joseph, of Lincoln; Gwen Easter, of Omaha; Connie S. Edmund, of Lincoln; Glenn Freeman, of Omaha; Rendell Gines Sr., of Omaha; Clarice Jackson, of Omaha; Laban Njuguna, of Aurora; Mark Jared Smith, of Omaha; Karine Sokpoh, of Omaha; and LeShawn Young, of Omaha.