Latest Literary awards News

This combination photo shows the cover of the Pulitzer Prize winning novel

An eventful year for Pulitzer Prize winner Colson Whitehead

Jun. 30, 2020 8:49 AM EDT

NEW YORK (AP) — Even sheltering in place, Colson Whitehead has had an eventful year. Whitehead became the first fiction writer to win Pulitzers for back to back novels, “Underground Railroad” and “The Nickel Boys,” which won the Pulitzer in May and comes out in paperback this...

In this Thursday, June 25, 2020, photo, novelist Ann Patchett, right, and her business partner, Karen Hayes, left, pose in their independent bookstore, Parnassus Books, in Nashville, Tenn. Their bookstore that opened and thrived while others were closing their doors is once again defying the odds during the coronavirus pandemic. (AP Photo/Mark Humphrey)

Novelist Patchett has Nashville bookstore customers swooning

Jun. 26, 2020 12:04 PM EDT

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) — The Nashville bookstore that opened and thrived while others were closing their doors is once again defying the odds, thanks, in part, to its famous novelist co-owner. Throughout the pandemic, Ann Patchett has appeared on the Parnassus Books Instagram account, often in a ball gown...

FILE - In this April 9, 2008 file photo, author Don DeLillo speaks at

Don DeLillo novel 'The Silence' coming in October

Jun. 24, 2020 1:49 PM EDT

NEW YORK (AP) — Don DeLillo will have something to say this fall about fear and isolation. The 83-year-old author known for imagining disaster in “White Noise,” “End Zone” and other works has a novel coming in October that takes place in 2022 amid a digital shutdown in New York...

Author-educator Danielle Allen wins $500,000 prize

Jun. 23, 2020 11:05 AM EDT

NEW YORK (AP) — The author and educator Danielle Allen has received a $500,000 prize from the Library of Congress. Allen has won John W. Kluge Prize for Achievement in the Study of Humanity. Allen is a Harvard University professor whose initiatives include the Democratic Knowledge Project for grades K-16...

Asturias award honors Canadian poet and essayist Anne Carson

Jun. 18, 2020 7:28 AM EDT

MADRID (AP) — Canadian essayist and poet Anne Carson, author of the 1986 non-fiction book “Eros the Bittersweet,” will be honored this year with one of Spain’s prestigious Princess of Asturias Awards. The jury of the literature award — one of the eight handed out annually by a...

This cover image released by Riverhead Books shows

Oprah picks James McBride's 'Deacon King Kong' for book club

Jun. 16, 2020 8:46 AM EDT

NEW YORK (AP) — Oprah Winfrey has chosen James McBride's “Deacon King Kong” for her book club. McBride's novel is set in a Brooklyn housing project in 1969 and centers on the shooting of a drug dealer by an aging and tipsy church deacon. But it also pays tribute to community and to McBride's...

This combination of photos released by Doubleday shows author Charles King, left, and the cover of

Historian Charles King wins Francis Parkman Prize

Jun. 10, 2020 8:07 PM EDT

NEW YORK (AP) — Charles King's “Gods of the Upper Air,” a group biography on such groundbreaking anthropologists as Franz Boas, Margaret Mead and Zora Neale Hurston, has received a prominent history award. Frances Fitzgerald won the first-ever Tony Horwitz Prize, established after the...

Hay and Guadalajara book events honored with Asturias awards

Jun. 9, 2020 9:39 AM EDT

MADRID (AP) — The Hay Festival of Literature and Arts and the Guadalajara International Book Fair will be sharing this year's Princess of Asturias Awards of Communication and Humanities, the foundation named after the heir to the Spanish throne announced Tuesday. From their respective bases in the Welsh...

Books on race and criminal justice top bestseller lists

Jun. 2, 2020 8:13 AM EDT

NEW YORK (AP) — As nationwide protests against racism and police violence continue, readers are seeking out books old and new on race and criminal justice. Robin Diangelo's “White Fragility," Michelle Alexander's "The New Jim Crow" and Bryan Stevenson's “Just Mercy” were among the...

Robb Forman Dew, prize-winning novelist, dead at 73

May. 27, 2020 1:39 PM EDT

NEW YORK (AP) — Robb Forman Dew, a prize-winning fiction writer who drew upon her small-town Ohio background for such novels as “Dale Loves Sophie to Death” and “The Evidence Against Her,” has died. Little, Brown and Company announced this week that Dew died May 22 at Baystate...