President Trump approves Kansas disaster declaration

TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) — President Donald Trump has approved a federal disaster declaration for eight Kansas counties hit by storms last month.

The declaration issued Friday orders federal assistance to supplement state and local recovery efforts for areas affected by severe storms, straight-line winds, and flooding from Sept. 1 to Sept. 8. The counties named in the declaration are Barber, Clay, Kingman, Kiowa, Marshall, Pratt, Rice, and Riley.

Under the declaration, municipalities and some nonprofits can apply for public assistance funds for emergency work and to repair or replace storm-damaged facilities.

Places in this Story

People in the Story